basicnoob.blogg.se

Best mac widgets mountain lion
Best mac widgets mountain lion




best mac widgets mountain lion
  1. #Best mac widgets mountain lion download
  2. #Best mac widgets mountain lion windows

Both databases are quite complete, and the layout of the information is actually done very well. Powered by the Oxford American Dictionaries, the Dictionary/Thesaurus widget does exactly what you'd expect it to: type in a word, hit enter and you get its definition or a list of synonyms depending on whether you have selected Dictionary or Thesaurus.

#Best mac widgets mountain lion windows

The Calendar widget solves that problem, and it does it quite well.Īs a Windows user, I always found myself clicking on the clock in the Taskbar to bring up a calendar for this very purpose, so I have extra appreciation for this particular widget. Whether it's for planning articles or planning a trip, I'm always having to open up the Calendar application just to get a look at the monthly calendar - not for my agenda, meetings or other appointments, but just so that I can get an idea of what the month looks like.

best mac widgets mountain lion

I'm a very big fan of the Calendar widget, simply because I'm always in a situation where I need to know the day of the week on which a particular date falls. The Calculator application in Tiger is improved, but it is nice to have access to a simple four-function calculator that doesn't eat up any desktop space. The Calculator widget is pretty self-explanatory for a person who uses the calculator a lot, this widget is very useful.

best mac widgets mountain lion

I'd say that it would be a useful widget if I used the Address Book more often. This widget is particularly useful to browse for a contact while on the phone, or if you have already a ton of windows open and organized the way that you'd like them and don't feel like adding another application to the mix just to get a contact. You can search through your address book using the widget and do just about everything else other than add new contacts - for that you have to actually open the Address Book application. Simply bring up the Dashboard and you can flip through all of your contacts, and if you need to, just hit the red button to exit the Dashboard and open the actual Address Book application. The widget saves you the desktop space of having the Address Book application open. I am not yet organized enough on my Mac to make extensive use of the Address Book (although, now with the ability to sync up my Blackberry, I probably will). The Address Book widget is a front end to Tiger's Address Book application. Here are the widgets that are included in Tiger:

#Best mac widgets mountain lion download

Apple provides a total of 14 widgets with Tiger (and a link to download many, many more) and they also provide excellent documentation for developers to make their own widgets. To me, the biggest attraction to Dashboard is the fact that you move very useful items off of your desktop and onto basically a separate desktop that is very easy to access.






Best mac widgets mountain lion